Todd Renshaw, Chief of Police
Post Number: 480
|Posted on Friday, September 03, 2010 - 11:35 am: |
The following press release was sent out on August 25th. There is no regulation on the number of hunters per tract.
Hunting in Frisco: Regulations on Safe Distances from Urban Areas
FRISCO, TX – The opening day of dove season for 2010 is September 1st. Hunters who are planning on obtaining property owners’ permission to use their land for hunting purposes must ensure that the tract of land is a minimum of 10 acres, that they are at least 1,000 feet from schools, hospitals, and day care facilities, as well as at least 600 feet from residential housing and multi-family residential complexes. Additionally, hunters should ensure—as always—that they fire their weapons in a manner not reasonably expected to cause a projectile to cross the boundary of property tracts.
The Frisco Police Department will continue to work with hunters and landowners to ensure that safe hunting practices are followed. Residents are urged to contact police if they feel that safe and reasonable distances are not being followed by hunters. Frisco police officers are confident that voluntary compliance can be achieved through education of the state law and identification of those areas within the city that may be affected by the new boundaries. For more information on this law, please visit the Frisco Police Department’s web site at www.FriscoTexas.gov/Police and click on the “Hunting in Frisco” link. Our web site will provide the details of the law as listed in the Texas Local Government Code, Section 229.003, as well as a map that will graphically illustrate areas in the city that fall within the boundaries of the new law.